Matt Morton

Matt Morton is an award-winning composer, multi-instrumentalist, and engineer/producer from Columbus, Ohio. He is best known for the Peabody and Emmy Award-winning documentary Apollo 11 from NEON and CNN Films. His captivating and innovative score exclusively used instruments and effects that existed at the time of the Apollo 11 launch in 1969. Morton was awarded both the 2019 Critics’ Choice Documentary Award for Best Score and the 2020 Cinema Eye Honors Award for Outstanding Original Score.

Most recently, Matt completed the score for the Netflix limited series Painkiller, created and directed by Peter Berg. Netflix also released 28 tracks from his Painkiller score as a soundtrack album.

His other projects include the Netflix true crime documentary Why Did You Kill Me?, director Todd Douglas Miller’s Emmy-winning Sundance documentary Dinosaur 13 from Lionsgate and CNN Films, Peter Berg’s short boxing documentary HEAVY:  Fury v. Schwarz from ESPN, Todd Douglas Miller’s Apollo 17 short documentary The Last Steps from CNN Films, Scaring the Fish starring Max Casella and Anthony Rapp, and John Urbano’s Panama City documentary Beauty of the Fight. He has also worked with brands including Porsche, Sonos, JPMorgan Chase, Wendy’s, Hollister Co., and American Eagle on various marketing campaigns, and has licensed music to numerous film and TV projects through his music production and publishing company Studio 651 Ltd.

Morton was a founding member, lead guitarist, and vocalist for the rock band The Shantee which recorded several albums, toured nationally, and opened for bands including George Clinton and Parliament/Funkadelic, Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, the Neville Brothers, Dickey Betts of the Allman Brothers, Widespread Panic, and The National.